Close Sidebar
Type & Hit Enter To Search
Social Icons
Host a Community or Educational Screening

Exciting news! The Starfish Throwers is now available to screen in your church, community center, school or any other public venue through our non-profit distributor Collective Eye.
The Community Screening Kit includes a discussion guide with a license to screen the film to up to 250 people in any venue of your choosing. Click here to learn more.

The Educational Screening Kit includes both an 83 minute and 58 minute version of the film. You’ll also have access a 9-page activity guide and lesson plan. Click here to learn more.

See the Film—
Broadcast, Theatrical Screenings, & Streaming Online 
Television Broadcast

The Starfish Throwers is OnDemand on DirecTV’s Audience network!
The film is also broadcast periodically there—check your DirecTV listings for dates and times.
DirecTV Audience Logo 400w

The film will be available On Demand online and through a variety of
other TV providers beginning Friday, Oct. 16, to coincide with World Food Day
Click here for where to find the film.

Stream the Film

The Starfish Throwers will be available On Demand online and through a variety of TV providers beginning Friday, Oct. 16, to coincide with World Food Day
Click here for where to find the film.
The film is available on iTunes NOW!
Click here to order on iTunes.
 


Find a Gathr Theatrical Screening Near You


Check the map to the right to see of there’s an existing showing of the film in your city. If so, reserve your tickets today.

Not a Gathr screening scheduled near you? Request one here!
REQUEST A SCREENING



Upcoming Screenings: Festivals & Theatrical (Non-Gathr)

Stay tuned for any further screening announcements.

Past Screenings (Non-Gathr)

—2014—

Thessaloniki Documentary Festival (Thessaloniki, Greece)World Premiere!
Sunday, March 16 @ 8:30pm (20.30) — Fridda Liappa Theatre
Tuesday, March 18 @ 3:30pm (15.30) — John Cassavetes Theatre

Sofia International Film Festival (Sofia, Bulgaria)
Friday, March 21 @ 7:30pm (19.30) — Cinema House

Cleveland International Film Festival (Cleveland, OH)North American Premiere!
Thursday, March 27 @ 6:40pm — Tower City Cinemas
Saturday, March 29 @ 5:20pm — Tower City Cinemas
Sunday, March 30 @ 7:20pm — Tower City Cinemas

Sonoma International Film Festival (Sonoma, CA)
Friday, April 4 @ 9:15am — Andrews Hall
Sunday, April 6 @ 5:30pm — Andrews Hall

Minneapolis St. Paul International Film Festival (Minneapolis, MN)
Thursday, April 10 @ 7:00pm — St. Anthony Main Theatre
Saturday, April 12 @ 4:00pm — St. Anthony Main Theatre
*Panel on Hunger Relief: Saturday, April 12 @ 2pm — Aster Cafe River Room at St. Anthony Main

Nashville Film Festival (Nashville, TN)
Saturday, April 19 @ 1:15pm — Regal Green Hills Stadium 16
Sunday, April 20 @ 1:00pm — Regal Green Hills Stadium 16

Minneapolis St. Paul International Film Festival “Best of Fest” (Minneapolis, MN)
Thursday, April 24 @ 7:00pm — St. Anthony Main Theatre

Myrtle Beach International Film Festival (Myrtle Beach, SC)
Saturday, April 26 @ 5pm — Carmike Cinema Broadway at the Beach

Independent Film Festival Boston (Boston, MA)
Saturday, April 26 @ 3:15pm — Somerville Theatre

Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival (Toronto, ON) Canadian Premiere!
Saturday, April 26 @ 3:30pm — Hart House Theatre
Monday, April 28 @ 10:30am — ROM Theatre
Friday, May 2 @ 9:00am — Bloor Hot Docs Cinema (“Docs for Schools” screening)
Sunday, May 4 @ 9:00pm — TIFF Bell Lightbox 2

Mendocino Film Festival (Mendocino, CA)
Friday, May 30 — Mendocino Film Festival in the Schools Screening —Mendocino High School
Saturday, May 31 @ 3:00pm — Crown Hall

Duluth Superior Film Festival (Duluth, MN)
Saturday, May 31 @ 8:00pm —Zinema 2, FREE SCREENING

Best of Hot Docs at VIFF (Vancouver, Canada)
Wednesday, June 25 @ 8:45pm — Vancity Theater

San Francisco Jewish Film Festival (San Francisco, CA)
Friday, July 25 @ 4pm — Castro Theater

Midwest Independent Film Festival (Chicago, IL)
Tuesday, August 5 @ 6pm — Landmark Century Centre Theater

FLICKERS: Rhode Island International Film Festival (Providence, RI)
Thursday, August 7 @ 8pm — Jamestown Arts Center

The Film Society of Minneapolis St. Paul (Minneapolis, MN)Theatrical Premiere
Friday, September 12 to Thursday, September 25 — St. Anthony Main Theatre

Port Townsend Film Festival (Port Townsend, WA)
Friday, September 19 @ 6:15pm — Peter Simpson Free Cinema
Saturday, September 20 @ 3:15pm — Rosebud Cinema

Awareness Film Festival (Santa Monica, CA)
Sunday, September 21 @ 6:00pm — Aero Theatre (Closing Night Film)

Aspen Film Festival (Aspen, CO)
Friday, September 26 @ 5:30pm — Crystal Theatre (Carbondale, CO)
Wednesday, October 1 @ 5:00pm — Wheeler Opera House (Closing Night Documentary)

Marine Documentary Festival (Marine On St. Croix, MN)
Thursday, October 2 @ 7pm — Historic Marine Village Hall

Milwaukee Film Festival (Milwaukee, WI)
Thursday, October 2 @ 10:00am — Landmark Oriental 1 (Education/Schools Screening)
Thursday, October 2 @ 4:30pm — Fox-Bay Cinema
Saturday, October 4 @ 2:00pm — Landmark Oriental 2
Monday, October 6 @ 10:00am — Landmark Oriental 1 (Education/Schools Screening)
Monday, October 6 @ 1:15pm — Landmark Oriental 1

The Terrace Theatre (Charleston, SC)
Sunday, October 12 @ 4:30pm

CineDoc-Tbilisi International Documentary Film Festival (Tbilisi, Georgia)
Thursday, October 16 @ 6:00pm (18:00) — Cinema Rustaveli, Hall #3

Hollywood Film Festival (Los Angeles, CA)
Friday, October 17 @ 7:30pm — ArcLight Cinemas
Sunday October 19 @ 10:30am — ArcLight Cinemas
Friday, October 17 @ 5:15pm — Homelessness Panel, ArcLight Cinemas
including Katie Stagliano of Katie’s Krops (featured in the film).

Dallas VideoFest (Dallas, TX)
Saturday, October 18 @ 12:00pm — Angelica Film Center

Carmel International Film Festival (Carmel, CA)
Sunday, October 19 @ 5:00pm — Carmel High School Performing Arts Center (Closing Night Film)

Washington West Film Festival (Washington, DC)
Friday, October 24, 2014 @ 7:30pm — Bow Tie Cinemas, Reston Town Center (Reston, VA)

Clinton Street Theater (Portland, OR)
Saturday, October 25 @ 2:00pm — Clinton Street Theater (It’s Make a Difference Day!)

Flyway Film Festival (Pepin, WI)
Saturday, October 25 @ 2:00pm — Villa Bellezza Gallery (It’s Make a Difference Day!)

Barrie Film Festival (Barrie, ON, Canada)
Saturday, October 25 @ 3:00 pm — Uptown Theatre, screen 1

Sofia Independent Film Festival (Sofia, Bulgaria)
Monday, October 27 @ 6:00pm (18:00) — Sofia, Cultural Center G8

Anima Film Festival (Buenos Aires, Argentina)South American Premiere!
Thursday, October 23 @ 8:00pm (20:00 hs) — Cinemark Palermo, Beruti
Sunday, October 26 @ 8:00pm (20:00 hs) — Cinemark Palermo, Beruti
Wednesday, October 29 @ 10:30pm (22:30 hs) — Cinemark Palermo, Beruti

Brattleboro Film Festival (Brattleboro, VT)
Saturday, November 1 @ 2:00pm — Latchis Theatre

Windsor International Film Festival (Windsor, ON, Canada)
Saturday, November 1 @ 11:30am — Joy Family Theatre
Monday, November 3 @ 9:15am — Joy Family Theatre

Naples International Film Festival (Naples, Florida)
Friday, November 7 @ 2:00pm — Silverspot Cinema
Saturday, November 8 @ 1:30pm — Silverspot Cinema

Driftless Film Festival (Mineral Point, WI)
Saturday, November 8 @ 5:15pm — Mineral Point Opera House

Big Water Film Festival (Ashland, WI)
Saturday, November 8 @ 7:00pm — Bay Theater

Evolution Mallorca International Film Festival (Mallorca, Spain)
Sunday, November 9 @ 12:00pm — CineCiutat, Block 8

Devour! The Food Film Fest (Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada)
Friday, November 14 @ 10:00am — Acadia Cinema’s Al Whittle Theatre-Main

Marda Loop Justice Film Festival (Calgary, AB, Canada)
Tuesday, November 18 @ 7:00pm — John Dutton Theater (Calgary Public Library)

SIFF Cinema (Seattle, WA)
Friday, December 5 @ 7:00pm
Saturday, December 6 @ 4:45pm
Sunday, December 7 @ 4:45pm

Madurai Film Festival (Madurai, India)Indian Premiere!
December 6-10

Park City Film Series (Park City, UT)
Thursday, December 18 @ 7:00pm — The Prospector

Flyway Minema (Pepin, WI)
Friday, December 19 @ 7:00pm
*Q&A with Director Jesse Roesler to follow.

—2015—

Wild & Scenic Film Festival (Nevada City, CA)
Friday, January 16 @ 6:30pm — Yuba River Charter School
Sunday, January 18 @ 9:30am — Nevada Theatre

Reframe Peterborough International Film Festival  (Peterborough, ON, Canada)
Saturday, January 24 @ 1:15pm — The Venue

Sedona International Film Festival (AZ)
Wednesday, February 25 @ 9:15am —Harkins Theatres 5
Saturday, February 28 @ 9:15pm —Harkins Theatres 5

Aspen Film — Encore Screening!
Wednesday, February 25 @ 7:30pm — Wheeler Opera House

Beloit International Film Festival (Wisconsin)
Saturday, February 21 @ 12:00pm — La Casa Grande
Saturday, February 28 @ 5:00pm — La Casa Grande
Sunday, March 1 @ 2:00pm — Bushel & Peck’s

Belleville Downtown International Documentary Festival (Ontario, Canada)
Friday, February 27 @ 10:30am — Schools Screening
Saturday,  February 28 @ 2:15 pm — CORE, Screen 2

Durango Film Festival (Colorado)
Wednesday, March 04 – 6:00pm – Gaslight 1
Thursday, March 05 – 3:00pm – Gaslight 1

Southern Circuit of Independent Filmmakers 
Wednesday, March 4 @ 7:30pm — Clemson University (Clemson, SC)
Sunday, March 15 @ 4pm — Winder Cultural Arts Center (Winder, GA)
Tuesday, March 17 @ 6pm — Morris Museum of Art (Augusta, GA)
Thursday, March 19 @ 9:30am — Wallace State Community College (Hanceville, AL)
Thursday, March 19 @ 6pm — Wallace State Community College (Hanceville, AL)

Salt Spring Film Festival (Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada)
Sunday, March 8 @ 4:15pm — The Fernwood Room

Vera Film Festival (Mariehamn, Aland Islands, Finland)
Thursday, March 12 @ 7:30pm (19.30) — Bio Savoy

Project Native Film Festival (South Hadley, Massachusetts)
Sunday, March 15 @ 1:00pm — Tower Theatres

WUWM Milwaukee Public Radio Special Screening (Milwaukee, WI)
Wednesday, March 18 @ 7pm — UWM Union Theater

Casket Cinema Screening Series, (Minneapolis, MN)
Thursday, April 2 @ 7:30pm — Casket Arts Building

The Linda — WAMC’s Performing Arts Studio (Albany, NY)
Thursday, April 16 @ 7pm

Rose City Islamic Centre (Windsor, Ontario, Canada)
Thursday, April 25 @ 7pm

Detroit Jewish Film Festival (Detroit, MI)
Wednesday, May 13 @ 2pm — The Berman Center for the Performing Arts
Thursday, May 14 @ 7pm — Repair the World offices (FREE screening!)

Human Rights Nights Film Festival (Bologna, Italy)
Friday, May 15

Prescott Film Festival (Prescott, AZ)
Sunday, July 26 @ 4pm — YC Performing Arts Center

Tassie Eco Film Festival — TeFF Teaser Night Screening (Hobart, Tazmania, Australia)
Friday, August 28 @ 6:00pm —Sustainable Living Tasmania
*TeFF screening during the festival: Nov. 12-15, 2015.

Guth Gafa International Documentary Film Festival (Kells, County Meath, Ireland)
Thursday, October 1 @ 7:00pm — “Food & Film” evening at Sheridans Cheesemongers (Pottlereagh, Co. Meath)
Sunday, October 4 @ 6:45pm — Media Studies Maynooth Cinema, Headfirst House